Houthi-controlled Parliament revokes memberships of 44 pro-government MPs

2021-04-04 | Since 1 Month

SANAA (Debriefer)--The Yemeni Parliament controlled by the Houthi group in Sanaa on Saturday voted to revoke the memberships of 44 parliamentarians loyal to the internationally recognised government.

In December, it revoked the memberships of 11 pro-government MPs.

Today's vote was held in accordance with the Article 194 of the Parliament's bylaw and constitutional and national duties, the Sanaa-based Saba news agency reported, adding that the 44 MPs have stood by a Saudi-led aggression on the country.

The MPs included businessman Hamid Al-Ahmar, the former Secretary General of the Nasserist Unionist People's Organisation Sultan Al-Atwani and the current Vice Speaker of the pro-government Parliament Abdulaziz Jubari.

The group ousted the government and seized the capital Sanaa in September 2014.

Many MPs fled Sanaa after its takeover and, in 2019, they formed the pro-government Parliament.

Follow us on twitter

Follow us on Telegram